July 26, 2016

VATAT Conference

Corpus Christi, Texas

CALL TO ORDER: Meeting was called to order by Melvin Pouncy @ 1:31PM

RECOGNITION OF GUEST AS THEY ARRIVED:

VATAT CREDIT UNION- UPDATE YOUR INFO

FRESH COUNTRY - OFFERED THANKS, IFRESH APP

TEXAS TECH- DR. RITZ, PLEASE CALL ON THEM, Invitational 3/30 (Thurs) State CDE 4/22, practice LDE 11/2

TEXAS STATE: MARCH 24 CDE/ INVITATIONAL LDE TBD

VATAT- BARNEY MCCLURE COMMENTS: CALL IF YOU NEED HIM

TEA- RON WHITSON COMMENTS

AARON ALEJANDRO: honor program still in existence, please download app

TPWD: come by booth to get materials

GENERAL ANNOUNCMENTS:

WORKSHOP 21-CHANGING

PAY ATTENTION TO NATIONAL FFA REGISTRATION- MUST LOCK IN NAMES

MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES APPROVED

NEW TEACHER INTRODUCTION

VATAT BUSINESS- Ray Piaenzsek

Comments: VATAT is in good standing financially, improvements to the building including

Landscaping, 217 members from the Area, Years of membership given

Elections of Board of Directors:

Danny Kempen reelected- By Brandon Evans

Warren Beard replaced with Janell McMullan 3 year term

2nd Opening- Glenn Meyers- 3 year term

Open Member: Patrick Padgett Elected to 1 year term

State Livestock Show advisory Committee:

OPEN NOMINATIONS REPLACING MIKE WALLACE:

NOMINATED: PATRICK PADGETT, BRANDON EVANS

ELECTED: BRANDON EVANS

REPORT: LORIE

State Livestock Show Competitive Events Member:

ELECTED: JORDAN BLOUNT

NO REPORT

State Ag Mechanics Member:

REPORT: MIKE BILLINGS

State Conference Planning Meeting:

ELECTED: WAYNE HUX, JAMES MARCUSE

Concerns: Convention, Caucus, retiring addresses, motion on screen, needs to be student led

REPORTS

TRESURER: Mark Jarzombek (Printed)

Highlighted budget

Moved that Proposed budget be accepted: Bryan Hawkins

Second

Budget Approved

STATE SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE: Mark Jarzombek/ Brad Barnett

55 applicants knocked down to 25 in May/ 18 made it through/ 12 in Pool A/ 6 in Pool B

Macy Lumkins/ Austin Clay received Area Scholarships

Scholarship policy- as far as moving Kids from Pool A- Pool B (area voted to leave policy

alone)

Scholarships 8 per area are guaranteed- area needs to vote on how many we need to propose for

each area – proposed to lay on the table

Scholarship apps due to Mark @ Floresville April 7

Brad Current Seat/ Mark Jarzombek Elected by acclamation

STATE LDE COMMITTEE

Roger Welch Reported Empty Seat vacated by Warren Beard

Nominated: Chase Carol, Joe David Lehembeger, Jordan Blount

Elected: Jordan Blount

STATE CDE COMMITTEE

Tim Tatsch Current Seat/ Ray P up for Re-election

Nominated: Ray P

Elected: Ray P

STATE AG MECHANICS

Eric Davis Current / Mike Tondre Coming off

Report Given

Nominated: Mike Tondre

Elected Mike Tondre

STATE HORTICULTURE CDE COMMITTEE

Andrea Watts Current Seat/ Vacated Seat By Jennifer Kotzur

Report Given: Andrea Watts

Nominated: Katherine Wohl, Bryan Hawkins

Elected: Bryan Hawkins

STATE FFA RODEO COMMITTEE

Craig Leonard Current Seat/ Becky Maas up for re election

Report Given: Becky Maas

Nominated: Becky Maas

Elected: Becky Maas

STATE WILDLIFE CDE COMMITTEE

Don Harris Current Seat/ Dwayne Reiley Up for re election

Report: Friday

Nominated: Dwayne Reiley

Elected: Dwayne Reiley

STATE AWARDS & DEGREE CHECK COMMITTEE:

Steve Forsythe Current Seat/ Vacated Seat by Gary Adams

Report Given: Steve Forsythe

Nominated: James Marcuse, Danny Kempen, Patrick Padgett

Elected: James Marcuse

SAE Task force: Dwayne Reiley/ Danny Kempen appointed

STATE SDE COMMITTEE:

Brad Barnett current seat/ Vacated seat by Steven Branekey

Report Given: Will meet this week report Friday

Nominated: Tyler Maltsburger, Wayne Hux, Lorie Kempen

Elected: Tyler Maltsburger

AG SCIENCE FAIR:

Deanna Roeder Current/ Andrea Nordman Elected

STATE OFFICER TRAVEL:

Dawn Stratton report Friday

STATE CONVENTION

Patrick Padgett- No report

AREA GREENHAND CAMP: Sept 17- Gillespe Co. Fair Grounds, Sept 2 deadline need shirt sizes and 10 kids per chapter \$5 per kid

AREA LEADERSHIP CAMP

Successful

June 19-21st

Need 1 female 1 male AST per district

FFA FOUNDATION

COURTESY CORPS

AREA LDE CONTEST Nov. 16 in Blanco

AREA LAND/RANGE/HOMESITE Oct 12/ Rainout Oct. 19

AREA/ DISTRICT BYLAWS COMMITTEE: Danny Kempen Chair, Melvin Pouncy, Ricky

Prescott, Jordan Blount, Keith Wiley, Brett Wheeler, Roger Welch

AREA VII WOOL CONTEST: 4/13- Gillesspe Co. Fair Grounds

OLD BUSINESS

NEW BUSINESS

AREA OFFICER ELECTIONS:

PRESIDENT: MELVIN POUNCY

VICE- PRESIDENT: FELICE MAREK

SECRETARY MIKE WALLACE

TREASUER: MARK JARZOMBEK

AREA ALIGNMENT COMMITTEE: Chair Felice Marek; Co-Chair Joe Vann, Patrick Clarke,

Michael Derry, Brad Barnett, Mike Rempe, Bryan Hawkins, Justin Taylor, Dwayne Reiley,

Lance Jonas, Patrick Padgett, Lance Rasch

Motion to allow alignment committee to work on process – Steven Forsythe, second- no discussion

General Consent passed

ADJOURNMENT @ 3:54pm

DISTRICT MEETINGS

Respectfully Submitted: Janell McMullan